Alternative Christmas cards…

Christmas isn’t just about good little boys and girls. Zombies, Pirates and even the Grim reaper can be found on December 25th, wearing daft party hats and moaning that they have eaten too much turkey (except for zombies of course, they only eat brains… Obviously).

This range of Christmas cards is all about celebrating a slightly alternative christmas or maybe just letting people know that you are a bit odd.

The grim reaper idea popped into my head a few months ago and I have to give credit to Terry Pratchett for inspiring me. I love his portrayal of Death in the Discworld novels and let’s be honest, christmas would be far more interesting if the grim reaper came down your chimney. I would certainly have taken more notice of his warning to be nice…

Next came the skull and crossbones design. I was racking my brains trying to find alternative images that wouldn’t be offensive or just too wierd for people to like. I have a few skull and crossbones designs in my Zazzle store and thought that decking one out in a santa hat might work. You will have to let me know if it does…

The Zombie is my favourite design for a couple of reasons. One, it’s a zombie! I mean, come on who doesn’t like a good zombie, wearing a stupid hat and offering you a gift of some juicy brains? The other reason is that I can’t draw to save my life. Put a piece of paper infront of me and give me a pencil and I can just about manage a stick man. With the magic of computer software, however I can draw lines and infinitely tinker with them until they look right. And I don’t have to worry about going outside the lines when colouring in. The zombie is my most ambitious attempt at vector art yet and I am darn proud of him. I think I’ll call him Bernard.

If you like the look of these cards they are all available to buy in my Redbubble store, along with some more traditional designs. If you get your skates on you can take advantage of a 15% discount, especialy for you. Just enter the code Purplecactus_is_on_sale_7878 when ordering. This offer extends to all my redbubble products and ends on 14th November so don’t hang around.

Leave a Reply

